Skip navigation.

The Consortium

The Consortium is based on a close collaboration between twelve different partners:

  • Deutscher Wetterdienst (DWD), Germany
  • Rutherford Appleton Laboratory (RAL), United Kingdom
  • University of Oxford (UO), United Kingdom
  • Free University of Berlin – Institute for Space Sciences (FUB), Germany
  • University of Valencia (UV), Spain (phase 1)
  • Swedish Meteorological and Hydrological Institute (SMHI), Sweden
  • Koninklijk Nederlands Meteorologisch Instituut (KNMI), The Netherlands
  • Laboratoire Météorologie Dynamique (LMD), France
  • German Aerospace Centre (DLR), Germany (phase 1)
  • University of Bremen (UB), Germany (phase 1)
  • Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (ETH), Swiss
  • Federal Office of Meteorology and Climatology (MeteoSwiss), Swiss

The management structure of ESA Cloud CCI is presented schematically in the Figure below. This will facilitate the production of deliverables with a minimum of bureaucracy and of business meetings. The organisational structure is designed to ensure that the work of the WPs is carried out efficiently and according to the plan, and that this work is then integrated effectively to achieve the goals of the project. The structure combines proven concepts of a number of ongoing and successful projects at European level. With this structure in place, we will be able to react flexibly to unexpected developments which might occur during the lifetime of the project.

The management structure comprises of the Scientific Coordinator, Dr R. Hollmann, DWD that is supported by a Project Manager, Mr M. Stengel, DWD, who also is responsible for the User Help Desk that directly supports user requests. The scientific work is structured into three major working groups. The EO Science team is led by C. Poulsen (RAL) who will directly report to the Scientific coordinator. The EO Science Team is further structured into a Retrieval and Processor Development Group led by R. Siddans (RAL), a Calibration/Intercalibration Group led by J. Fischer (FUB) and a Validation Team led by R. Hollmann (DWD). The EO Science Team is supported by external partners from EUMETSAT, NASA and NOAA that assure the embedding of the development work into the international frameworks of GSICS, SCOPE-CM and the MODIS science team.
The Climate Research Group is led by C. Jones and is structured into two groups that are the GEWEX assessment group led by C. Stubenrauch and the Model/Reanalysis Team led by C. Jones. As the EO Science Team this structure is supported by external partners.The EO Science Team and the Climate Research Group is supported by a Visiting Scientist Programme. This programme supports specific development needs and applications of the resulting data sets outside of the consortium. Appointments of Visiting Scientists will be discussed at Project Meetings and decided by consensus of the EO Science Team and Climate Research Group leaders and the Scientific Coordinator. In a case of non agreement the Scientific Coordinator decides.

The final structure is the System Engineering Team that is led by P. Fuchs who is the Chief Engineer of the CM SAF. Members in this team come from the major partners DWD, RAL and FUB serving the processing of satellite data.